Nature taking back

I’ve always been far more drawn towards the weathered, broken-down and decayed .. it’s very common amongst theatre and screen designers, and it reaches back to the Romantics. I live close to the Thames waterside and I enjoy the way the river transforms man-made waste into objects of beauty. But I’d like to think of this as more than just responding to an aesthetic appeal, rather it’s a statement of allegiance to nature.


Back in 2006 I found a simple wooden dollshouse in a local charity shop. It was in fairly good condition though unoccupied, unfurnished and very basic .. mass-produced in cheap plywood, probably from the 1940s or 50s. I kept it with me for a while but when I moved house in 2008 there was little room for it inside, and the only place to put it was on the outside landing. So at first inadvertently but then by design it became an ‘experiment’ .. exposed to the elements and open to the local wildlife. I’ve photographed its transformation a few times over the past years, but I think these latest .. on the verge of falling apart .. show it at its best!































13 thoughts on “Nature taking back

  1. David, this is simply wonderful. I share your preference for all things weathered and incorporate this aesthetic in my own work whenever possible. The comments here that seek to find the possible motives behind such a preference were equally interesting to read. You have all given me some things to think on as I enter my studio this morning – and really, who could ask for more from a blog post?

  2. The photos have a great atmosphere, and a very haunting quality. We have been known to leave our furniture ( an armchair and a table) and even one of our old sets in the garden for nature to work its magic before finally getting rid. Maybe it’s about letting go gradually to something that you’re very fond of but don’t have room for anymore.

  3. In a way that is really sad but that is not necessarily a bad thing. It speaks of leaving childhood and childish things behind, to be passed on or returned to nature. A great and poignant project.

Leave a Reply

